+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: CAD advice needed

Hello-

Our team's objective for next year is to model the entire car, including every single part. I have been using CATIA V5 for a couple of years. It's a great program, but I feel it has limitations. For instance, on a single computer, I find it difficult to make a big assembly without CATIA getting so slow it is impossible to work with.

I was wondering if there was a lighter CAD program around that would enable us to model the entire thing without having to find a 50 computer network.

What about Solidworks? SolidEdge? Alibre? Inventor?

Thank you
    Didier Beaudoin
    École Polytechnique de Montréal 2005-2008
    École nationale d'aérotechnique 2004

Hello-

Our team's objective for next year is to model the entire car, including every single part. I have been using CATIA V5 for a couple of years. It's a great program, but I feel it has limitations. For instance, on a single computer, I find it difficult to make a big assembly without CATIA getting so slow it is impossible to work with.

I was wondering if there was a lighter CAD program around that would enable us to model the entire thing without having to find a 50 computer network.

What about Solidworks? SolidEdge? Alibre? Inventor?

Thank you
    Didier Beaudoin
    École Polytechnique de Montréal 2005-2008
    École nationale d'aérotechnique 2004

Well, let's start with your computer's specs. If you don't have at least 1GB of RAM, you're dead in the water. 2GB is better.

Next in importance for CAD is the video card. The nVidia quadro line is made for CAD, vs. their gaming cards. However, the gaming cards can be "soft-quadro'd" (thank you Russia) to unlock the professional features you'll find in the quadro cards at 3X the price.

Then, CPU speed. If you're building a new computer, Athlon64 is the way to go, yes even while running 32 bit software. Do a search for solidworks benchmark, you'll see.