+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: ...

Hey guys,
    I'm new to FSAE but not to turbocharging. I have done some extensive searching on the cbr 600f4i topic though and have pretty much come up dry.
    Alot of teams that run turbos seem to lower the CP quite a bit. It is obvious why you would do this but, my question is. Since we are limited to 600cc displacement. Lowering CP would in advertantly cause displacement to increase over 600ccs.

For people running turbos. What PSI maxes out the duty cycle of the stock injectors? And are you experiencing overheating problems with turbo overspool?

I Just need to get the ball rolling a preposal before anything can be done. Just searhing out my options any input would me much appreciated
    thanks alot
    Jason

Hey guys,
    I'm new to FSAE but not to turbocharging. I have done some extensive searching on the cbr 600f4i topic though and have pretty much come up dry.
    Alot of teams that run turbos seem to lower the CP quite a bit. It is obvious why you would do this but, my question is. Since we are limited to 600cc displacement. Lowering CP would in advertantly cause displacement to increase over 600ccs.

For people running turbos. What PSI maxes out the duty cycle of the stock injectors? And are you experiencing overheating problems with turbo overspool?

I Just need to get the ball rolling a preposal before anything can be done. Just searhing out my options any input would me much appreciated
    thanks alot
    Jason

Hello Jason,

I assume you mean CR (compression ratio) when you write CP.

Lowering the CR by either shimming the head with a thicker gasket or milling the piston domes does not change the displacement.

Displacement is defined as the swept volume of the piston and that will not change unless you alter the bore or stroke.
    Daniel Deussen
    www.weber-motor.de
    Saginaw Valley State University Alum
    Cardinal Formula Racing '99 - '05
    FSAE: 6th in '02 and 8th in '05