+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Machine Tools

Hey there, I'm a post-bac finance graduate headed back to school for a mechanical engineering degree starting this summer and I'm interested in FSAE.

I have no shop experience really except wrenching on my own toys and I realize that's a huge disadvantage. I would really like to be able to "jump in" and be useful as soon as I get to school.

Looking at local community college I see an intro to machine tools class...however there are 3 different versions of it...so I'm wondering how in-depth I need to go.

The first two levels (3 and 6 credits) have a lot to do with lathes and drill presses so I'm assuming those pretty essential.

The final level (9 credits) seems to include all of the above plus band saws and pedestal grinders.

Would it be worth it to take the 9 credit course?
    Or am I misdirected altogether and should I be looking for training in other tools?

Hey there, I'm a post-bac finance graduate headed back to school for a mechanical engineering degree starting this summer and I'm interested in FSAE.

I have no shop experience really except wrenching on my own toys and I realize that's a huge disadvantage. I would really like to be able to "jump in" and be useful as soon as I get to school.

Looking at local community college I see an intro to machine tools class...however there are 3 different versions of it...so I'm wondering how in-depth I need to go.

The first two levels (3 and 6 credits) have a lot to do with lathes and drill presses so I'm assuming those pretty essential.

The final level (9 credits) seems to include all of the above plus band saws and pedestal grinders.

Would it be worth it to take the 9 credit course?
    Or am I misdirected altogether and should I be looking for training in other tools?