+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Imprtance of FSAE for employers

I am a student at the University of Colorado. Our school is trying to cancel the program. Could any employers send me an email about the importance of FSAE to an employer. My email is joshgossanyi@gmail.com. Thank you all for your time.

I am a student at the University of Colorado. Our school is trying to cancel the program. Could any employers send me an email about the importance of FSAE to an employer. My email is joshgossanyi@gmail.com. Thank you all for your time.

There are a lot of teams without any support from university!

All you need is a motivated group of motorsport enthusiasts.

Where there is a will, there is a way!

http://www.facebook.com/pages/FStotalcom/158738688444

Have to agree, it's doable without university support. From that point of view though it's also a lot more work, but you learn so much as well.

Also at my last job interview it was probably 1/2-3/4 of an hour spent discussing FSAE/BAJA experience. They do look at it as it teaches a lot of the skills that can take a while to learn on the job.

Cancelling the program as in if it was part of the curriculum and now it no longer is, or take away yours money from school, or take away your space on campus, or a combination of those things? I know of enough schools that gets nothing from their school aside from a room(not us, but there are those out there). I also know enough schools that FSAE is completely extracurricular(as is the case for Toronto, aside from thesis in final year). I think with those cases what FStotal said is true. Might be difficult, but not completely impossible. If your school pull all the support and the room from underyou though, I can see that being a problem....

Where I work now actually, of the ~25 people engineers here, probably 7-8 of them have prior FSAE experiences, so I think there are employers out there who value this kind of experiences for their new hires.