+ Reply to Thread

Thread: The Nature of a Hole

Let's chat.

"Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing more to add, but when there is nothing left to take away."

A drilled hole is one of the simplest machining operations.
    My question for this discussion would be:
    When you are designing a component do you see a drilled hole as REMOVING material or ADDING a feature?

No wrong answers, both are accurate, but what do you think?

I am a process engineer so I say adding a feature.

-William

Well it depends on the nature of the hole. If it is simply there to decrease the mass of a part, then it is removing material. Same goes if you are drilling the hole as a pilot hole or starting another machining operation. However, if it is the mounting point for another feature or the part that you are making, then I would say you are adding a feature.

Now the question could be brought up what do the tolerances of the hole need to be? If it is simply there to reduce weight, does it need to be perfectly round? If something is mounted there, does it actually NEED to be a reamed hole? Is there a limit on how far off the hole can be and still accomplish its given function? If it is covered up and not moving, does the hole still need to be within a .100" tolerance if the part is still doing its job?
    Any views or opinions expressed by me may in no way reflect those of Stewart-Haas Racing, Kettering University, or their employees, students, administrators or sponsors.

Naturally FSAErs don't get that much hole (racecars >> girls).
    And a-holes are by nature usually, well, just that. But where goes the line between complete a-holes and regular a-holes?
    "...when this baby hits 88 miles per hour... you're gonna see some serious shit" - Dr. Brown

Depends on your perspective.

To quality control, a hole is an added stress riser.
    To the vehicle dynamics group, it's less weight.
    To the machinist, it's an added operation.