+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: Engine selection: new advances V. tried and true

Ok, I know some of the points I'm about to mention have been discussed in various threads in the forum, but I don't think anyone has taken this angle on it yet. I've been working with Oklahoma State's SAE team for about three years now (yes, we still have one...we just never seem to make competition.) We've always had a few members that stick with the team through each year, but this year we're incorporating it into OSU's Capstone design class. So, herein lies our problem:

We've been debating a good deal on the various engine selections that FSAE teams now have at their disposal. The experienced team members want to run with something we'll be at least slightly familiar with, while the Capstone members that haven't yet touched the project support more drastic changes to the car as a whole. For the most part, our discussion has involved the Honda F4i, the Yamaha FZ6, and (surprise) the Aprilia SXV 550.

By my judgement, our car is about due for a powerplant change since we've never deviated from the Honda powerplant. But, as always, our budget is extremely limited which by my reckoning (unless the stars align and a miracle occurs) rules out the Aprilia...So, I'm thinking the FZ6 powerplant would probably give us the most bang for our buck. We also know (vaguely) what we can expect from the FZ6 in terms of load bearing characteristics to the frame, since it's block appears similar to the layout of the F4i..

Anyone who wants to weigh in on this would be much appreciated; I know Texas A&M has been successful with both of these engines. Do any of the A&M guys have a preference, and why? I know the FZ spec yamaha engine claims to stick the powerband right where we need it due to the modified cam profile, but does it live up to its claims? Thanks in advance, everyone.