+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Are these poorly designed A-arms

Saw this indy pic on facebook and thought...

parallel equal a-arms!?

I'm a first year rookie suspension guy but I was under the impression unequal length non-parallel (SLA) were superior.

with SLA you get a lower camber/roll coefficient and lower roll center.

Am I wrong?

www.OspreyRacing.org
    University of North Florida

Saw this indy pic on facebook and thought...

parallel equal a-arms!?

I'm a first year rookie suspension guy but I was under the impression unequal length non-parallel (SLA) were superior.

Am I wrong?

www.OspreyRacing.org

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by OspreysGoSWOOP:
    </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

So then the design judge might ask you:
    How much do you think this car rolls while cornering?
    Where is the roll center for parallel equal length a-arms?

And you reply...
    Chris Patton
    Vehicle Dynamics
    Global Formula Racing '10-'12
    OSU Beaver Racing '05-'09

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Crispy:
    <BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by OspreysGoSWOOP:
    </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

So then the design judge might ask you:
    How much do you think this car rolls while cornering?
    Where is the roll center for parallel equal length a-arms?

And you reply... </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

For parallel suspensions links, the roll center is at infinity. This always puts the roll center at ground level.

The ground level RCH will introduce a higher roll couple than say a RCH 1" off the ground, but this might be offset by their wide track width which would reduce lateral load transfer and decrease the camber gain caused by body roll.