+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 10 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: throttle bodies...

hey, just wondering what throttle bodies you guys recommend. This is my first year doing this and i've been given the wonderful task of looking for a 34 mm throttle body. Any information would be greatly appreciated.

cheers

build one yourself mate.. you are going to have a hard time pulling a 34mm throttle body off a car or a bike. very messy if you do.

we built our own 34mm throttle body from billet ally. butterfly type. our SLS nylon / carbon restrictor screws on. some teams build the throttle body/restrictor in one peice. some have roller type.. some are carbon fibre etc...

you get the idea. look around. design - build.

Sam Graham
    Engine Group Leader 2003
    UQ Racing

Slider type. SOOO easy to make. SOOO light. SOOO reliable. amazing throttle response.

Vinh

University of Toronto Formula SAE Racing Team
    www.fsae.utoronto.ca

try Jenvey Performance Induction out of England
    www.jenvey.co.uk
    They make really nice throttle bodies in about 100 sizes, trumpets, etc...and if you're nice they might give a discount.

we actually decided to kinda mod one of the existing bodies from the GSXR throttle bodies.

we sleeved it down to 1 inch, made our own throttle plate, and fit a TPS bracket on it. quite cool in my opinion.

~Adam

I've been looking at 3 different possibilities for the throttle:
    barrel
    slider
    butterfly

I see an advantage to using a slider or barrel because at full throttle there is no restriction. Vinh mentions good throttle response with a slider as well. Is there any advantage to using a butterfly? I can see a bit of a problem connecting a TPS to a slider which is why I'm leaning towards a barrel valve.

Ben Beacock
    Co-Manager
    2004 Gryphon Racing - University of Guelph

Hi Ben,