+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Runner Lengths Formula

Runner Lengths Formula

Hello everyone,

My name is John Strudel and I am the 2015 Powertrain team leader for Florida Atlantic University's Owls Racing and we will be competing in FSAE Michigan this year. I am a junior and this is my first year with the team. My experience is 15 years as a automotive technician and I returned to school to learn the math/science behind the functions of automotive systems. That being said, I am working on designing the intake and exhaust manifolds for the 2016 engine and a former member created a spreadsheet for calculating the runner lengths and I have been working to decipher it in hopes of using it as a design tool and as an engineering document for future members. Unfortunately the member that created it is not available for reference so the question I have is if the formula I derived from the spreadsheet looks correct:

<Runner length (mm)=((Speed of Sound in air @ IAT (m/s)*1000)/(2*Harmonic wave))*((60/RPM)/360)*Cam Duration @ .050>.

The current design correlates with this equation and performs well. I have ordered Scientific Design of Exhaust and Intake Systems to read. Any other documents or books you can suggest would be great.

Thanks,
    John Strudel

John, welcome back to the academic world!

There is a sizable list of books and references located here on the forum:

http://www.fsae.com/forums/showthrea...for-car-design

A very good one is Gordan P. Blair's "Design and Simulation of Four-stroke Engines":
    http://www.amazon.com/Design-Simulat.../dp/0768004403

Gordan is very comprehensive.

Good luck.
    Kettering University Vehicle Dynamics
    Formula SAE 2010 - 2015
    Clean Snowmobile Powertrain 2012 - 2015

Boogityland 2015 - Present

John,