+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Helmet rules...not safe enough?

Helmet rules...not safe enough?

Hello all,

As the Vice President of my club I've spent quite some time reading and rereading the rules, as I'm sure most of you have done, and I've found one particular thing particularly striking. How is it the rules for helmets aren't more explicit? My background is in bicycles and motorcycles, where I've worked in the bicycle industry for over 7 years, and in the two wheeled arena helmets are the number one priority when discussing the topic of safety, for obvious reasons. In those industries it is not uncommon for one to debate the topic from any number of angles regarding things like what certifications are necessary, how fitment is equally as important as the helmet itself, even concepts such as some certifications being excessive and thus dangerous for some applications (such as how if a certification absorbs a greater amount of energy it could potentially render a helmet useless at lower speeds - obviously it's more complex an issue than that but you see where it goes...).

Anyhow, it seems to me Formula SAE prides itself on writing so many rules that it's nearly impossible for a team to compete with a car that isn't safe. My question then is, what good is any of that if one of the most exposed and fragile parts of the human body isn't adequately protected? What do I propose may be a problem? Well, in my field of 'expertise' (bicycles) it's widely accepted that helmets must be replaced after a given amount of use and a given time frame. The common perception is for helmets to be replaced every 5 years, regardless of whether it was used or not (this is also common in motorcycle racing, where helmets must have been manufactured within the last few years).