+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Using Optimum K for analyzing bumpsteer

Using Optimum K for analyzing bumpsteer

Hi all,
    I'm working on steering for Columbia University's team, and I'm wondering if there's a feature on Optimum K that can help with analyzing bump steer. Specifically, analyzing bump steer with different sized steering racks. I'm very new to Optimum K, so I apologize if this is a stupid question.

Thanks!

Apologies if this is not what you're looking for since I'm not familiar with Optimum K, but there should be some output which can show toe change with vertical suspension travel (aka bumpsteer). You should just be able to change the inner tie rod (track rod) XYZ position and assess the toe change outputs.
    Jim
    "Old guy #1" at UCONN Racing

Quote Originally Posted by GwenArch View Post
    Hi all,
    I'm working on steering for Columbia University's team, and I'm wondering if there's a feature on Optimum K that can help with analyzing bump steer. Specifically, analyzing bump steer with different sized steering racks. I'm very new to Optimum K, so I apologize if this is a stupid question.

Thanks!
    Yes it can. Read the user manual.
    Trent Strunk
    University of Kansas
    Jayhawk Motorsports
    2010-2014

Now in NASCAR land. Boogity.
    Opinions Are My Own

I can only agree with Trent.

There are 2 rules in software use
    1. You can't use the software unless you read the user manual
    2. Except a few (very rare) exceptions, nobody reads the user manual.

Believe it or not, whether questions our support engineers receive are about OptimumLap, OptimumTire, OptimumKinemantics, or OptimumDynamics, whether they come from professionals or from students, in 90 % of the cases most of our replies consist in a CTRL C + CTRL V of some specific pages of the user manual / help file.