+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Using car springs.

Smile Using car springs.

Hey,

First post here. I'm a student designing suspension for a university race team in Edinburgh.
    It's also our teams first year and we are still learning what to do. Is there anything else I need to say in the intro?

Most teams use a pushrod system with a downhill bike dampener.

We were looking at this design because it was cheap, but now we have found cheap car suspension on this website.
    http://www.avouk.com/MotorsportFrameset-84.htm

Do you think that by using car springs directly from the unsprung hub to the chassis we would be able to do this? I have no idea about normal forces experienced in FSAE so was asking for your advice. Our car will probably be around 300kg, we are literally just trying to get it to complete endurance and that would be it.

I would guess a single car suspension rod on the wheels would be too stiff?

Would car suspension work just like a long version of the downhill bike suspension, or do we need a duel spring-dampener system (I guess that would be too complicated)

Link if previous one doesn't work.
    Trackday - GTX kits - Ford Fiesta

Thanks

The car will have suspension...

I'm not going to design your car for you. You should draw some diagrams and see what it looks like. Remember F=KX and how to use the trig functions on your calculator.

Quote Originally Posted by I_dont_know_what_im_doing View Post
    I have no idea about normal forces experienced in FSAE...
    Why on earth not?

An FBD of the hub will give you all the forces you need...

Fbd

OP HERE

I'm away until Monday so will come back to calculations then, but I was also wondering about anti-roll bars. With direct suspension I guess it would require more work to put one in, almost cancelling out the point of direct suspension?