+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Ricardo WAVE experiment problems.

Hybrid View

Unhappy Ricardo WAVE experiment problems.

Hi everyone,
    I'm having problems running a WAVE experiment to change lengths of runner and exhaust system components. The model runs perfectly well and provides a true to life base line, but when I run the experiment I either receive :

"Summary file data does not exist for: followed by a list of run speeds and then "There is insufficient data for curve fitting"
    or
    A fitted curve which I can adjust, but which has negative units. For example torque negative, power negative. Like the engine was not being fuelled.

I have tried various min and max lengths and while this avoid the first error the second refuses to budge.

This is my first time using WAVE any tips/advice/solution would be fantastic.

I've e-mail Ricardo, but have can't received a working answer.

Hi mellink,

1. Who are you and where are you from?
    2. Have you done the tutorials? I found it best to do the tutes and then build up from there
    3. How do you know that you are getting a true to life base line when you are failing to get results?
    Jay

UoW FSAE '07-'09

Hi Jay,
    I'm a student from Lancaster race team
    .I've done the tutorials.
    And I know the starting model is about right because I've compared it to the dyno results of the power unit and it works fine. Its just as soon as I start using the experiment functions.
    Ty R

Mellink, I replied over on r/FSAE as well but try deleting whatever experimental run files are in the folder (should be a ton of files that begin with "speed") and run it again. Sometimes Wave gets confused by old data and tries to interpret it instead of running again. If it continues to give you trouble try uploading some screenshots of your Wave setup and I'll see if everything looks reasonably normal.
    Rensselaer Motorsport (RPI)
    Engine, Drivetrain, Electrical Lead 2012-2014