+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: How to be a rookie judge?

How to be a rookie judge?

To the judges on here,

I graduated last year and want to start the process to become a rookie judge at Michigan this year and give back to FSAE. It seems kinda hard to find out who to contact about this... Any help would be appreciated!

Thanks!

From my experience, it seems that judges are chosen by the competition via their sponsorship (and often have no clue), or are long standing members of the FSAE community (Claude, Pat, etc.). Having spoken to some volunteers, the impression is that you have to volunteer for a while (flag marshalling, practice track controller, etc.), thus qualifying as being a 'long standing member' before getting near the judging tent.
    Jay

UoW FSAE '07-'09

I just had this discussion with Kaley Zundel about volunteering earlier today. I'd start with an email to her, and tell her what you're interested in. Here's her email address: kzundel@sae.org
    Matt Davis
    University of Cincinnati
    Bearcat Motorsports: 2012-2013: Suspension guy

Bilstein: 2013 - ??: Product Engineer

This post is a collection of my own thoughts and opinions, and in no way, shape or form reflects the thoughts/opinions of my company, my university or anyone else but myself.

Rookie judges in Australia

Just a polite clarification if I may

We have a number of long standing judges here in Australia, but we also are continuously on the lookout for new judging talent. Many of the long-standing judges and officials are looking towards the new generation to step in and to start taking command of the FSAE-A ship. So there are judging positions available here, allocated on a merit basis.