PDA

View Full Version : Steering Geometry Design

davethemenace
10-12-2011, 11:03 AM
Hey All,

I know I am new to the forum and I have already read up "If you are new here, click here and read this first..." http://fsae.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

I have also read and searched in the forum. However, I noticed that there are not many links for Steering Design. I am in the process of designing steering mechanism for the car and needed some help so I ask this question in best possible English known to me. :P

1) How to determine the Steering Geometry with the Wheelbase and Track-width given? (ie how to find out length of rack, steering arm length and angle, tie rod length)

2) How determine the co-relation between the rack displacement and steer angle given the steering geometry?

3) How to know if the design will meet the requirements?

Kindly provide help or relevant links in this regard.

Thanks,

davethemenace
10-12-2011, 11:03 AM
Hey All,

I know I am new to the forum and I have already read up "If you are new here, click here and read this first..." http://fsae.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

I have also read and searched in the forum. However, I noticed that there are not many links for Steering Design. I am in the process of designing steering mechanism for the car and needed some help so I ask this question in best possible English known to me. :P

1) How to determine the Steering Geometry with the Wheelbase and Track-width given? (ie how to find out length of rack, steering arm length and angle, tie rod length)

2) How determine the co-relation between the rack displacement and steer angle given the steering geometry?

3) How to know if the design will meet the requirements?

Kindly provide help or relevant links in this regard.

Thanks,

woodsy96
10-12-2011, 10:33 PM