PDA

View Full Version : Sensors and Measurement

Randy Van der Ree
05-24-2004, 06:01 PM
Hi, how r u folks, My team and I would try to go to the 2005 Formula SAE (first year), and my assignations are the electric and electronic system of the car we want to make, Right now I am studying the sensors of the motor that we bought a Suzuki GSX-R600, and have some difficulties on how to measure the temp of the motor and the RPM, if anyone have some infromation that caould help me for initiation would be greatfull.
http://www.fsae-luz.org

Randy Van der Ree
05-24-2004, 06:01 PM
Hi, how r u folks, My team and I would try to go to the 2005 Formula SAE (first year), and my assignations are the electric and electronic system of the car we want to make, Right now I am studying the sensors of the motor that we bought a Suzuki GSX-R600, and have some difficulties on how to measure the temp of the motor and the RPM, if anyone have some infromation that caould help me for initiation would be greatfull.
http://www.fsae-luz.org

B Lewis @ PE Engine Management
05-24-2004, 08:15 PM
Hi Randy,

What kind of info are you looking for? I think that I could probably help you out.

Randy Van der Ree
05-25-2004, 11:51 AM
HI brian, as I said before we bought a SUZUKI GSX-R600, This motor brings a:
camshaft position sensor
crankshaft position sensor
Temperature sensor
Intake air temperature sensor
Intake air pressure sensor
Throtle position sensor
Gear Position sensor
Coolant temperature sensor
We need to mesaure the RPM and temperature on the dashboard, where can I get the electrical singal to measure these parameters. if they are all coneccted to the ECM

05-26-2004, 01:51 PM
Randy,

RPM - The signal coming out of the sensor will be a sine wave whose frequency corresponds to RPM based on the number of teeth on the wheel. You will have to do some conditioning by measuring the period to get RPM.