PDA

View Full Version : software to be used

virajshah
08-25-2007, 06:04 AM
what software should i use to analyze crashes and make a report of the efficiency of the impact attenuator.

virajshah
08-25-2007, 06:04 AM
what software should i use to analyze crashes and make a report of the efficiency of the impact attenuator.

Christopher Catto
08-26-2007, 05:15 AM
Well, depends totally on what your Uni has since the softwares are complex and sometimes not PC-based. Also, my advice is to avoid doing all the work on your own. Inevitably you may make mistakes and also may find the steep learning curve frustrating. I have little experience of crash software because I only used it as part of academic projects/assignments so here is what little I can say.

From what I remember, you can use one of the following:

Madymo (used by the likes of Nissan). for example if you are comfortable in Rhino (yes, I know it is not strictly a CAD package) then you can save it I think as .sat or something similar. material properties and other inputs are in a text file which is an old fashioned way of doing things. i dont like it at all.

LSDyna (I think part of or can be run with Ansys). matl properties can probably be trasferred from Ansys. Dunno how the newest ansys is but it should import iges quite easily from the likes of Catia, Pro/e, Solidworks, NX3. it did have some problems with I-deas because I-deas translators are a bit tricky to set up regarding iges flavour.

PAM-crash. big program. expensive. never used it. I know F-1 teams use it for their crash simulation before they head up to Cranfield Impact centre or Lola or some other impact centre.