PDA

View Full Version : Engineering Question

Rossodino
01-19-2005, 12:20 PM
Hi everyone, I am a newbie and a car nut. I also enjoy racing a lot and track my cars whenever I get a chance. I am wondering if someone can help with an automotive question or direct me to a technical publication/paper where I can see scientific/engineering explanation of the following question.

I am wondering if excess backpressure created by clogged catalytic converter on a high performance passenger car can cause exhaust valve failures. The car has a v8 where a compression and leakage tests were performed and while the right bank shows no leakage (0-1%), the left bank shows anywhere from 4 – 14% on different cylinders. The car has less than 19000 miles.

Can anyone point me to an engineering paper discussing this cause and effect? I appreciate your help.

Cheers,

Matt

Rossodino
01-19-2005, 12:20 PM
Hi everyone, I am a newbie and a car nut. I also enjoy racing a lot and track my cars whenever I get a chance. I am wondering if someone can help with an automotive question or direct me to a technical publication/paper where I can see scientific/engineering explanation of the following question.

I am wondering if excess backpressure created by clogged catalytic converter on a high performance passenger car can cause exhaust valve failures. The car has a v8 where a compression and leakage tests were performed and while the right bank shows no leakage (0-1%), the left bank shows anywhere from 4 – 14% on different cylinders. The car has less than 19000 miles.

Can anyone point me to an engineering paper discussing this cause and effect? I appreciate your help.

Cheers,

Matt

Daves
01-22-2005, 12:16 AM
I currently have a clogged catalytic converter (party due to oil consumption), and it causes my '91 Honda Civic to overheat when traveling over 60 mph. I easily remedy this by turning the heater on nearly 100%.