PDA

View Full Version : reverse engine

tamir5005
11-18-2006, 02:03 PM
Hello all
this is my first year as a member in this project. our team, as well as many other teams, uses motorcycle engine. our engine is installed the same way as it is installed on the motorcycle, which means exsust pipe in the front side and carbs on the back side. why not turn it around(similar to the cannondale off-road motorcycle...)??? is there a team that did it? can anyone think of a reason not to do this?

kwancho
11-18-2006, 02:26 PM
Then you'd get 5 reverse gears and 1 forward gear.

tamir5005
11-18-2006, 02:59 PM
so you reverse the spin from the engine, not too big of a problem.

Alan
11-18-2006, 05:29 PM
I believe Michigan Tech did this a few years ago. I think they want as far as spinning the engine in the opposite direction. This included making a new impeller for the water pump and new cams. I'm pretty sure it was a dry sump with an external pressure pump. Its been a long time though so I could be completely wrong on the details of how they did it.

Andycostin
11-18-2006, 07:15 PM
Auckland, NZ did it last year, and took the car to Germany. I'm not 100%, but I believe that they haven't changed the layout this year.

Hope that helps

Moke
11-18-2006, 08:29 PM
We didn't exactly reverse the engine. What we did was tilt the engine backwards, so the sump became near vertical, the headers went up and the intake downwards. T

his set up lowered the COG by about 50mm and allowed us to lay the driver back (dropping their COG) as the engine fits better into the car.

But it's not all cream. The oiling system is of no real use, but if you come up with a sweet dry sump that will over come this.

Bill Kunst
11-20-2006, 03:30 PM
I think that MTU just changed cam timing and ran the intake through the original exhaust port and the exhaust through the intake ports. Then the only thing that needs changing is cams.
Bill

billywight
11-20-2006, 05:18 PM
Just flip the head around backwards...