PDA

View Full Version : How do you set up the ECM to start a cold engine?

Mechanicaldan
02-22-2003, 12:38 AM
Hello all,

I'm very new to ECM tuning, and my learning curve is just about vertical right now, but I am determined to get this figured out.

I've gotten our engine started a few times, but it's not an easy task. I've done what I can to get the fuel map OK above 3000 RPM. It is sitting on the dyno right now, but I couldn't have the professor show me how to operate the dyno tonight because I spent a couple hours trying to get it running and semi-tuned.

How do you get these bloody things started well?

We are using a DTA E48EXP engine control module. The injectors are rated at about 10 lbs/hr, the fuel pump is set for 45 PSI, there is no water temperature compensation, no air temperature compensation, and no MAP compensation. I have the accelerator effect set at 45% increase for 0-1500 RPM, and the first row of the fuel map starts at about 3ms and goes to 12 ms, in 14 divisions relating to the TPS sensor being fully closed to fully open. I have the start up enrichment anywhere between 75% and 225% to get the engine started.

As for timing, during cranking the DTA is firing on either 0 or 1 tooth BTDC. The trigger wheel is a 32 - 3 tooth wheel. We are running a '98 Kawasaki ZX-6R engine.

I could really use some help, and would greatly appreciate any comments.

Thanks,

Cyclone Racing
Iowa State University
Engine Team Leader

Mechanicaldan
02-22-2003, 12:38 AM
Hello all,

I'm very new to ECM tuning, and my learning curve is just about vertical right now, but I am determined to get this figured out.

I've gotten our engine started a few times, but it's not an easy task. I've done what I can to get the fuel map OK above 3000 RPM. It is sitting on the dyno right now, but I couldn't have the professor show me how to operate the dyno tonight because I spent a couple hours trying to get it running and semi-tuned.

How do you get these bloody things started well?