PDA

View Full Version : deciding on what engine to run

edstrokedta
06-25-2007, 07:53 AM
hello, my name is ed. i am a student at uab in mechanical engineering. i am starting my ssenior design project this summer and i am loking for any help that i can get. i am in charge of the engine design for the formula car. i was told that we needed more power to be a competitor. we are currently running a crf450 dirt bike engine, but it just would not cut it at the competition. so any ideas on what engine combinations work best? i have heard that turboing the car is an option, but any info would help greatly.

ed

murpia
06-26-2007, 06:22 AM
Go on, be an engineer, you know you want to...

Engineers analyse problems using the tools of physics, mathematics and common sense. Then they propose solutions for peer review with a series of pros and cons, and a consensus is reached. At least, that was what I was taught in the years before the internet...

Regards, Ian

VFR750R
06-26-2007, 03:37 PM
Hint: If your car was slow, it likely wasn't the engines fault.

Hint 2: Search this forum, there is days of engine information/opinion here already.

drivetrainUW-Platt
06-28-2007, 10:59 AM
There is nothing wrong with a 450 dirtbike engine.

BeaverGuy
06-29-2007, 09:11 AM
While I certainly Agree with Ian and VFR750's sentiments I'm going to answer this anyway. More because it is an overal design approach question than anything else.